..
/ cps / home /
 

Marco Fries

Marco Fries
Email: marco.fries(at)uni-siegen.de 

 

Room: US-D 117 (Ludwig-Wittgenstein-Haus, Campus Unteres Schloss)

Phone:  +49 (0) 271 / 740 5165

Consultation hour: By arrangement

Vita

Marco Fries studied Business Information Systems at the University of Siegen. Parallel to his studies, he was employed by GIB mbH as a dual student. GIB mbH is active in the area of software development around SAP with its own products. He also wrote his Bachelor’s thesis at this company. After successfully completing his Bachelor’s degree, he first worked as a software developer and later as a consultant and project manager at the same company.

After two years of full-time work, he started a Master’s degree in Human Computer Interaction at the University of Siegen on a half-time basis. His master’s thesis focused on sales planning and machine learning with the title: “A design case study for sales forecasting using machine learning in the food industry”.

After two more years as a department head for global consulting, academy and support, he started at the University of Siegen in August 2021 as a research assistantat the Chair of Cyber-Physical Systems. Here he is involved in the ExPro project and in supporting a project to develop a regional future centre for artificial intelligence.

Publications

..
/ cps / home /
 

Marco Fries

Marco Fries
Email: marco.fries(at)uni-siegen.de 

 

Raum: US-D 117 (Ludwig-Wittgenstein-Haus, Campus Unteres Schloss)

Telefon:  +49 (0) 271 / 740 5165

Sprechstunde: Nach Vereinbarung

Vita

Marco Fries studierte Wirtschaftsinformatik dual an der Uni Siegen. Parallel zum Studium war er bei der GIB mbH als dualer Student beschäftigt. Die GIB mbH ist im Bereich Softwareentwicklung rund um SAP mit eigenen Produkten tätig. In diesem Unternehmen schrieb er auch seine Bachelorarbeit. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums arbeitete er zunächst als Softwareentwickler und später als Berater und Projektleiter beim gleichen Unternehmen.

Nach zwei Jahren Vollzeit fing er auf Basis einer halben Stelle das Masterstudium Human Computer Interaction an der Uni Siegen an. Seine Masterarbeit fokussierte sich im Bereich Absatzplanung und maschinelles Lernen mit dem Titel: „Eine Design Case Study zur Absatzprognose mittels maschinellen Lernens in der Lebensmittelbranche“.

Nach zwei weiteren Jahren als Abteilungsleiter für die globale Beratung, Academy und den Support fing er im August 2021 an der Uni Siegen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Cyber-Physische Systeme an. Hier wirkt er im Projekt ExPro mit, sowie in der Unterstützung eines Projekts zur Erschließung eines regionalen Zukunftszentrums für künstliche Intelligenz.

Publikationen